Big Sexy Noise
uk | Label: Sartorial Records

Upcoming shows

Click here to see past shows...

Formed in 2008 and features Terry Edwards (Madness, Spiritualized, Siouxsie, Robyn Hitchcock) James Johnston (Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds 2003-2008, Faust) and Ian White (Barry Adamson), collectively known as Gallon Drunk, and the uncompromising Lydia Lunch who has collaborated with an encyclopedia of musical originators including Sonic Youth, Nick Cave, Henry Rollins Einsturzende Neubauten and most recently Alan Vega and Omar Rodriguez Lopez of Mars Volta.


BIG SEXY NOISE creates primal, hard-hitting, hip shaking intensely addictive, hard rock music with roots that straddle blues, raw funk and late night jazz noir.


Fronted by the notorious Lydia Lunch, BIG SEXY NOISE not only transcends the underground ghetto from which they originated but herald a return to music that is provocative, exciting and once more truly dangerous.


BIG SEXY NOISE recorded their second full length LP TRUST THE WITCH, at Fortress Recording Studios in London during May and September of 2010.


TRUST THE WITCH contains 12 explosive original songs written by Lydia Lunch and James Johnston and showcases the diverse musicality of BIG SEXY NOISE. The propulsive themes which drive this album range from the southern funk of Self Defense, the twisted post psychedelia of Mahakali Calling, the hard driving rock of Forever on the Run, Cross the Line and Collision Course and the dirty funk of Ballin’ the Jack. The album closes with the hypnotic voodoo trance Trust the Witch, an intoxicating late night lullaby flavored by the swamp ghosts of Louisiana blues which serves up a sexy tonic to soothe the sonic bombast of the other 11 tracks.


Big Sexy Noise just got bigger, sexier and noisier.


The pick of the universally positive notices for the debut album:
The dark and disillusioned bump ‘n grind is a swaggering, stripped back and ultimately live take on rock – The Wire


For those who thought Nick Cave’s raucous Grinderman project didn’t go far enough for, this one’s for you – The Arts Desk
An uncharacteristically classy and unreservedly enjoyable album – The Sunday Times


Lydia Lunch: Vocals
Terry Edwards: Guitar, saxophone and keyboards
James Johnston: Guitar, keyboards and vocals
Ian White: Drums, percussion



Big Sexy Noise
Sartorial Records(2009)
Big Sexy Noise Mini Album
Sartorial Records(2009)